Addicted to Breaking Bad

Hello again, dear readers – this is Scott checking in from the back of the bandwagon, and have I had quite the ride. What’s that you say? Has our beloved, unique blogger become just another one of the millions? A sheep in a sea of wool? A fish in a sea of… fish? However you put it, I have relented to the endless cries put forth by my friends and family. I have started watching Breaking Bad. And I am loving every second of it.

It all started a couple of weeks ago with the pilot episode. It couldn’t hurt. Just one easily digestable forty-five minute chunk of precious time. I’m a music major, right? I take on things I don’t have the time or capacity for thirty-times a day. What’s one more thing stacked on top of my things to do going to do to my list of prioritized things? Fast-forward two weeks, and I’m already deep into season two. Without giving much away, let me just say that this show is not what I had expected. I went into this mess unsure and naive, an innocent scoop of vanilla ice-cream before a freezer full of drugs and chaos. But what I love most about Breaking Bad is not the drugs or seedy characters, but how Walter White manages to handle his double-life with both a family and drug-runners calling him every five minutes (for those not in the know, Breaking Bad is about a high-school chemistry teacher who “breaks bad” by cooking and selling crystal meth in Albuquerque, New Mexico). The drama and tension here is top-notch, and I find myself wanting to watch just one more episode every time (and this is coming from a person who shuns television and avoids most modern programming as if it was glowing with nuclear radiation). I know the show’s finale took place two nights ago, and that I am far behind the times. But it is never too late to enjoy a good story, and I encourage any readers out there dying for such a thing to give it a try. Go ahead. It won’t hurt. And if you find Heisenberg calls to you like the sirens of old (as I surely do), feel free to leave a comment in the space below.

Leave a Reply

